My First Interview with a Member of the Big Blue Wrecking Crew


My First Interview

In honor of the Giants NFC Championship win I would like to share with all of you my first ever interview with an athlete.  Recently I was so fortunate to meet with not just an athlete but the one and only Harry Carson, a member of the Big Blue Wrecking Crew of the 1980’s.  The interview began by accident when I was attempting to mingle at the Walter Camp Foundation Awards event.   Allowing my nerves to get the best of me I approached the kindest looking and welcoming person I could find who happened to be the very pretty woman standing next to me.  This woman was named Maribel and she happened to be the wife of Harry Carson whom I was about to meet.  I briefly explained to her my purpose of being at the event and my desire to have a career in sports.  She immediately asked me if I would be interested interviewing one of the men who was the first to dump Gatorade on a coach.  Being the gung-ho and excited individual that I am said, “Of Course!”  So she automatically volunteered her husband and explained to me that was her connection to this event.

As expected with any first interview comes a little bit of first time jitters and uncertainty especially meeting with someone so accomplished.  However, Carson was an exceptionally down to earth and friendly athlete so it made the interview all the more comfortable and fun.  I began the by asking Carson when and why he got involved with football.  He said, “I used to play sandlot style football when I was young.”  Then once he hit high school (9th) grade he began playing on the school’s football team.  You may wonder what Harry’s main motive for playing football was at Wilson Senior High and McClenaghan High School but the answer is quite simple: “It’s all about the girls.”  After taking a moment to regain my composure and stop giggling I asked him a little bit more about football.  He explained that after being motivated by girls to pick up the game in high school he quit because it was way too difficult for him and not what he expected it to be. However, Carson ended up returning to football shortly thereafter and never quit again which is quite fortunate for all of the football fans out there especially Giants fans.

After high school Carson attended South Carolina State University and received a Bachelor of Science degree in education.  During his college career Carson never missed a single game and won numerous collegiate honors such as the Kodak All-American Football team, NAIA All-American Team, All-State (SC), MEAC Defensive Player of the Year on two separate occasions.  Not only was Carson an exceptional athlete but he was recognized for having the highest average academically amongst Black All-Americans.  This young man was already doing big things at such a young age no wonder his success and aspirations have continued to this day.

After college, Carson was drafted in 1976 by the New York Giants as a Linebacker.  Carson was a 9 time Pro-Bowler pick, team captain for 10 years, two-time recipient of the NFC Linebacker of the Year award and was inducted into the Football Hall of Fame.  I asked Carson what his favorite thing about playing in the NFL was and he replied, “Playing with the guys and all of the relationships made.”  When asked about his motivation, Carson replied, “I was most motivated by my entire team and Willie Jeffries.” Willie Jeffries was one of his college coaches and biggest mentors. Carson described Jeffries as practically his “surrogate dad.”  In 1986, Carson’s team won the Super Bowl 39-20 against the Denver Broncos.

After personally interviewing Harry Carson, meeting his wife Maribel and learning about his life, this man is truly deserving of the Man of the Year Award through his motivation and jack of all trades way of life.  Carson has not only made a name for himself as an athlete but a sport broadcaster, entrepreneur and an author.  He is involved with numerous organizations such as the Miami Project, Boys + Girls Club of America, The Boy Scouts of American and the list goes on.  It is such an amazing thing when someone as successful as Harry Carson can possess such positive personality traits, successful athletic skills and such a desire to give back to society. Congratulations Giants and congratulations Harry Carson!

3 Responses to “My First Interview with a Member of the Big Blue Wrecking Crew”

  1. Nice job, Amanda! So happy for you…the 1st one is always the hardest.

  2. mrityunjoy Says:

    i love you

Leave a Reply

